Posted by: busman74 | April 20, 2009

Speaking Lesson – artifacts

I’m a little outdated with updating Speaking Lesson Plan thanks to the terrible migraine I experienced for last 2 weeks. So now that I’m pretty better, I’d like to do it.

This time, I worked by myself, so I had double work on preparing all worksheets and every stuff to be used in the lesson. It’s always good to have somebody assisting you in this, that’s why most professors have their assistants and helpers, I guess.

Speaking is the weakest point not only for the students, but also for teachers, especially when they speak English as ESL too. Therefore, I had to prepare every details of my lesson, including pronunciations of every word I’d say in the class not to be embarrassed making mistakes in front of the students.

Since the first verb that come to the mind to express our likes and dislikes is “to like (don’t like)”, I decided to teach expressions that say more than just “likes” and “dislikes.” I can like something, but for many things we have greater feeling than “like”; I can love something, I can feel pleasure in something or I can even have passion in it. For dislikes, the same happens.

So I started my lesson talking about some favorite things people would like to do for their vacations, activities that could elicit opinions from the students. As I led in, they loosely began speaking what they like or don’t, and as I expected, their expression was limited to the verb “like”.

After a couple of minutes of talking, I introduced some new verbs and expressions that could show one’s likes and dislikes more specifically. And as a practice-stage activity, I handed out a boring worksheet, but as I felt the time running faster than I supposed, I decided to run just some points of the activity with the whole class setting. But, that was my mistake: I should have made enough time to do it thoroughly and have thought another way to save time, because, the exercise in the worksheet was really necessary for the students to get used to the expressions they’ve heard for first time in their life just few minutes ago. It was way too much expecting they get used to new vocabulary with no a good practice! So I realized that I never should hurry in a practice-stage activity in every lesson.                GET THE STUDENTS PRACTICE ENOUGH WHEN NEW ITEM IS GIVEN!

Then, I prepared a couple of follow-up activities and homework for practice, although I hadn’t been asked to do so. But, again, I strongly wonder if they would have worked without the students having been practiced the structure.

speaking-lesson-plan , worksheet-n1-pictures , worksheet-n2-fill-in-blanks , worksheet-n3-role-play ,

worksheet-n4-homework


Leave a comment

Categories